So, this is how it feels.

Now, I know.

This morning, I felt how it is to be a president of a national, multi-level company. I was one for about an hour.

Tindi, pare. Ang hirap din pala.

As a member of the of the internal PR office of the company, we had to handle the corporate productions of the company. And since this week is the company’s anniversary celebration, most of the events were handled by the office. One of these was the Corporate Rites ceremony.

The Corporate Rites ceremony is an event where employees are awarded for their service and dedication to the company. There, the executives give away humongous plaques and lengthy speeches of appreciation and thanks.

This morning was the dry-run practice of the Corporarte Rites ceremonies. Of course, the top executives of the company could not come to such a practice so they had stand-ins. I was one.

And I was the President and Chief Operating Officer of the company.

Grabe, hindi nag-sink in sa akin yun until I was called up to the stage. I was in the dead center and was basking in the spotlight. I was with two other guys who were the Chairman and CEO of the company and the other was the chairman of the anniversary week.

And then came the winners. I literally had to SHAKE HANDS to almost 300 awardees! Man,ang dami na lang talaga nila! “Ang dami na lang germs ng kamay ko afterwards,” was the first thought that buzzed in my head.

All of those people came up the stage and shook my hand. Each person hand a different feel, a different grip and a different smile. Yung iba, feel nila na ako talaga si JPF (the company president). Yung iba, wala lang. Yung iba, kebs. Pero, grabe, ang dami talaga.

And the worst part was, I had to stand for almost an hour. Man…

I thought that being the president of a multi-million company was no fuss. You didn’t have to do the dirty work. All you had to do was go to board meetings and sign stuff. Do events and PR on the side. Go to charities, smile for the company cameras, deliver long speeches and you are done. But no, you really have to stand up for everything. Literally, stand up.

And for that dress rehearsal, I, being the company president, had to stand for almost an hour, without rest and with all eyes on me.

Pare, now, I really know.

2 comments so far

  1. sam on

    eto na kuya kirk ang bago kong blog. under development pa lang. at bihirang i-update. nice going.πŸ˜€

    nga pala, tanggap na ako sa CONVERGYS. talk about non sequitur.πŸ˜›

  2. el pistolero on

    hi sam! sabihan mo lang ako kung kelan mo ilalaunch.πŸ™‚ congratulations! extra income din yan.πŸ™‚ good luck with work.πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

